Spam prevention
Rainmaker
2,574,016
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

What I think a listing agent "should" do does not matter. 

What matters is how I conduct my business.

I attend Every. Single. Inspection. Period. For buyers or sellers. 

This is the time I get to know more about the property and complete my own agent inspection. 

May 15, 2018 03:11 PM
Ambassador
1,341,731
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

So I can sit for hours waiting? I don't think so. I might be there for the finale.

May 15, 2018 03:22 PM
Rainmaker
455,178
Dan Tabit
Northstone Real Estate Inc. - Sammamish, WA

I would attend. I would want to fully understand any issues that the report would mention so that I could advise my client as to if or how they should address them. Since the report will be provided to prospective buyers, I don't think the listing broker can feign ignorance regarding the contents. 

May 15, 2018 11:58 AM
Rainmaker
2,855,323
Michael Jacobs
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393

If an inspector is entering my client's property,  my plan is to be in attendance. 

May 15, 2018 11:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,419,084
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
Realty One Group - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

I would as I want to let the sellers know that I am their agent in all circumstances.

May 15, 2018 11:26 AM
Rainmaker
2,600,106
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

If they have signed an exclusive yes. If not, no!

May 15, 2018 03:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,328,103
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Los Angeles CA

No, do not need to be there, optional.

May 15, 2018 02:47 PM
Ambassador
2,479,638
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

I don't - consider the liability if you do - it could put you in a precarious position with Disclosures as it could also do with your Sellers. 

Having a pre-inspection can backfire on them if they don't make ALL of the repairs, yet they have to Disclose the findings that they don't remedy. They could be shooting themselves in the foot, getting buyers in the door.

May 15, 2018 02:29 PM
Rainmaker
1,188,604
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Alliance Real Estate - Minot - Minot, ND
Bob Timm, Broker Associate, Alliance Real Estate

I very rarely attend a home inspection David Martin (703) 585-4687 . I don't want to be a distraction.

May 15, 2018 01:49 PM
Ambassador
2,017,420
Fred Griffin
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     I show up to unlock the door, and relay any pertinent information to the Inspector.  I ask him/her to text or call if there is anything major, so that I can come back to the house and have them show it/explain it to me.

May 15, 2018 01:08 PM
Rainmaker
594,267
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
AZuRE Team - Realty ONE Group - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

It depends. Being there at the home inspection makes the listing agent know what's wrong with the property even before being listed. Thus a matter of disclosure. Listing agent must disclose what he/she knows. I would prefer not to know.

May 15, 2018 12:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,361,649
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Area Real Estate

I wouldn't want to know any more than I had to. I would not & I would not recommend it as the buyers inspector will rip the place apart anyway.

May 15, 2018 12:48 PM
Rainmaker
2,258,101
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

As a listing agent...I am hands on from signature to commission check cashed

May 15, 2018 12:43 PM
Rainmaker
2,423,229
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I do not attend inspections; however, if an agent wants to attend more power to them.

May 15, 2018 12:21 PM
Rainer
162,041
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL

It is up to the agent.  If you haven't secured the listing, you have to decide if you have the time.  There will be a report, so I don't see why an agent would need to attend.  

May 15, 2018 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
3,681,828
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

No!  But if they wanted to, they could.  A

May 15, 2018 10:39 AM
Rainmaker
4,213,792
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

we don't do pre-listing inspections in my area.... I've never known of any to be done unless it was a guaranteed sale by a relo company....they the company would inspect every inch of it and do every test before they did a buyout....

May 15, 2018 04:12 PM
Rainmaker
277,715
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

We just did this recently and our seller gave us a copy of the inspection to provide to potential buyers. Our agent was not there for the inspection.

May 15, 2018 02:35 PM
Rainmaker
559,049
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I would 

May 15, 2018 02:08 PM
Ambassador
3,550,975
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

Yep, I would. 

May 15, 2018 01:00 PM
Ambassador
2,702,380
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I would.

May 15, 2018 12:57 PM
Rainer
66,705
Jon K. Judd
Keller Williams Realty - Central Delaware - Dover, DE
GRI, e-PRO, SFR, Delaware Homes

I wouldn't necessarily stay for the whole inspection, depends on the situation.  I usually will spend some time (if available) to poke my head in and see how things are going... I've found it also to be a good time to do some more "bonding" with my seller...

May 15, 2018 11:26 AM
Rainmaker
80,611
Paul Weese
Colorado Group Realty - Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs Broker and Outdoor Enthusiast

For pre-listing, I think attending shows the Seller that the agent is proactive and acting in an advisory role.  For the Buyer inspection, no way.  Those items can be problematic if something was missed the first time through.  Knowing pre-existing conditions helps eliminate later objections.

May 15, 2018 10:35 AM
Rainmaker
926,052
Corinne Guest, Managing Broker
Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
Barrington, a Luxury, Country Suburban Lifestyle.

What listing agent, he's not on the market? But to answer what I think you mean, no, why? I would just ask the seller if anything came up as he fills out his disclosures.

May 15, 2018 10:32 AM
Rainer
447,791
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

I have to say I agree with Debe Maxwell, CRS . Also why would they spend the money to have an inspection done? I would recommend against it as the buyers are going to want to have their "own" home inspector due the inspection.

May 15, 2018 07:15 PM
Rainmaker
215,269
Susie Kay
Ultima Real Estate - Plano, TX
North Dallas Specialist

If I already have the listing then yes, I will attend.  

May 15, 2018 04:26 PM
Rainer
30,506
Dan Capra
LAER Realty Partners - Lowell, MA
Listing/Buyer Agent

tell home owner not to have a home inspection!!!

May 15, 2018 01:27 PM
Rainer
99,401
Byron K . Jones
Keller Williams - Exton - Coatesville, PA
List Today - Sold Tomorrow!

Have to...No   want to...maybe..depends...will def look at reports when available

May 15, 2018 11:22 AM
Rainmaker
4,552,751
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

That is up to the agent and the circumstances.

May 15, 2018 11:08 AM
Rainmaker
2,346,851
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I would not. My inspectors provide reports within 24 hours... I can read. I can call the inspector for more clarification, if need be. Plus there are disclosure issues for which I might not want liability.

May 16, 2018 05:23 AM
Ambassador
3,627,665
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

Many sellers have it down before they call me. That suits me just fine.

May 15, 2018 07:40 PM
Ambassador
3,349,442
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Since we cannot advise on filling out the RECR it may be best to not be a party to this either.

May 15, 2018 06:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,613,500
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

The listing agent should be there through every part of the selling process. I do not always agree with pre listing reports, as i can walk through with a seller and point out the same things to complete before we list

May 15, 2018 04:24 PM
Rainmaker
839,438
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I ENCOURAGE SO...PLEASE LET THEM DO THEIR JOB..... not bothering them.

May 15, 2018 03:57 PM
Rainmaker
3,954,205
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

If seller requests

May 16, 2018 07:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,465,419
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

My vote is "NO"!

May 16, 2018 07:55 AM
Rainmaker
4,197,490
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I think it's a good idea, but not mandatory.

May 16, 2018 05:55 AM
Rainmaker
2,881,454
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Joe Pryor nailed this one!

May 16, 2018 05:17 AM
Ambassador
2,673,558
Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Check with Cheryl Ritchie who will only take a listing if the seller agrees to a pre inspection. I'm thinking she is doing it right. I believe she also has the seller fix everything on that report. 

May 15, 2018 11:38 PM
Rainmaker
469,456
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
RE/MAX Valencia, Stevenson Ranch, Santa Clarita

I sure would.  It would be a bad start if they didn't have my support before it was on the market.

May 15, 2018 11:36 PM
Ambassador
3,926,906
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

David Martin (703) 585-4687 - good idea for sure. In fact, the listing agent should suggest this anyways.

May 15, 2018 11:01 PM
Rainmaker
518,786
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I make it a practice to do so. The seller may or may not be there, also. Do you want your client who has trusted you, as the expert, to ask you, “So what is it that you do to earn the commission money that I agreed to pay you?”. I look at it as part of my responsibility to my client.

May 15, 2018 08:42 PM
Rainmaker
480,826
Dave Halpern
Keller Williams Realty Louisville East (502) 664-7827 - Louisville, KY
Louisville Short Sale Expert

No, so the seller cannot claim the agent advised the seller what to disclose.

May 21, 2018 04:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,481,654
Joan Cox
Metro Brokers - House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

No, but would want a copy, as if you have knowledge (Seller & LA), you must disclose.

May 18, 2018 02:53 PM
Rainmaker
3,549,307
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

ONe thing of a homeowner doing this, Even if the inspector doesn't find  a defect, the homeowner still needs to disclose

May 16, 2018 08:39 PM