Nathan Gesner, Broker / Property Manager (American West Realty & Management)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
115,982
Susie Kay
Ultima Real Estate - Plano, TX
North Dallas Specialist

I will explain to my buyers the importance of a home inspection but ultimately it is their decision.  If they elect NOT to have an inspection I would ask them to sign a document or send an email stating they decline to have a home inspection.  

Oct 03, 2017 11:28 AM
Rainmaker
1,967,151
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Area Realtor

I advise strongly. If they decide against inspections they sign a waiver for me saying I had advised and it was their decision to not have inspections.

Oct 03, 2017 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
2,370,777
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale - Probate Broker

Stupid is as stupid does.  I tell my clients (sellers too) that we will be getting inspections otherwise they will need to find someone to work with. If they can't or don't want to invest in their biggest investment then they maybe should not be buying a home.  In 15 years I have never had a client refuse to get an inspection.  I feel it is all in how we message the message of how important it is to get inspections!

Oct 03, 2017 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
905,512
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

That it's part of the process.  If they waive it (regular buyers almost never do, only flippers), then there is an "against agent advice" form they fill out waiving their rights.

Oct 03, 2017 09:35 AM
Rainmaker
2,165,168
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

We have a form which states we recommend the buyer have the home professionally inspected.  They sign they form that they will or will not have the property inspected.

Oct 03, 2017 07:01 AM
Rainmaker
2,687,943
Michael Jacobs
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393

No inspection?  That would be the choice of the buyer who will sign a strongly worded advisory against that decision should he/she/they want to go in that direction.  

Oct 03, 2017 06:18 AM
Rainmaker
2,254,862
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

For your protection get a home inspection. If you want to pass, sign here that you were warned!

Oct 03, 2017 06:06 AM
Ambassador
1,776,494
Fred Griffin
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Extremely important.  House, termite, well, septic, maybe HVAC, others.

Oct 03, 2017 05:49 AM
Ambassador
2,089,768
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

You know what to tell them - if they still opt not to have one, have them sign a waiver. Do not take that liability on!

Oct 03, 2017 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
438,911
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I can't remember ever having a buyer NOT do an inspection...I never offer it as an option.

Your newest agent is playing with fire...re-train them.

Eve

Oct 03, 2017 11:06 AM
Ambassador
1,127,685
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Hard, even with new construction.

Oct 03, 2017 10:21 AM
Rainmaker
590,103
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Depends on the buyer. 1rst time buyers should get an inspection for several reasons. If it's a builder or contractor that knows he/she is going to be doing a major remodel, and is familiar with the workings of the house, well, septic, etc, then maybe a home inspection isn't needed.

Oct 03, 2017 09:50 AM
Rainmaker
656,970
Jennifer Mackay
Keller Williams Success Realty - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

EXTREMELY!!!

I have a story I tell all my clients who think they are saving money by not having one... They're not!

Oct 03, 2017 09:39 AM
Rainmaker
329,218
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

enough to get a waiver signed if they choose not to, hope they got a home warranty and your new agent has first hand experience to share with future buyers of the same mindset.

Oct 03, 2017 09:22 AM
Rainmaker
2,149,410
James Dray
Fathom Realty AR LLC - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Yep, been there seen that. 

Oct 03, 2017 07:30 AM
Rainmaker
795,087
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

It's not foolproof but it's the least expensive way to assess a property's basic health and form a baseline of knowledge for your home. From new construction to historic home the recommendation is repeatedly given.

Oct 03, 2017 07:23 AM
Ambassador
1,434,784
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

I stress it pretty darn hard.  If a buyer says they don't want to have an inspection to save money, I have them sign a form that shows that they're going against their Realtor's advice... that usually slows them down enough to rethink their position.

Oct 03, 2017 07:20 AM
Rainmaker
855,543
Corinne Guest, Managing Broker
Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
The Choice of Professionals

I've never had anyone decline, I insist and explain the what if's. The buyer would have to sign a waiver for me!

Oct 03, 2017 07:20 AM
Rainmaker
678,345
Carol Williams
U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business. - Wenatchee, WA
"Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services"

Can;t be stressed enough!

Oct 03, 2017 07:15 AM
Rainmaker
45,413
Christine Kankowski North SD and Temecula
House Match Inc - Poway, CA
Excellent Sales and Property Management

I absolutely tell them that is the most imprtant thing.  WE dont know what is in the attic, or if the wiring is up to code.  Why invest in the largest expense of your life and not have it checked out. 

Oct 03, 2017 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
2,154,084
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

An inspection should become mandatory by now and part of all deals

Oct 03, 2017 07:05 AM
Ambassador
3,242,760
Jeff Dowler
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

I haven't had any issues with buyers not wanting to have inspections - most seem to realize the value and importance. Have only had 1 in recent years and once I explained the potential issues they went ahead,

Oct 03, 2017 07:04 AM
Rainmaker
3,280,822
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing

Nathan,

We would insist that a buyer gets a home inspection.  What a way to shoot yourself in the foot.  A

Oct 03, 2017 06:56 AM
Rainmaker
1,253,247
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Nathan Gesner The seller usually agrees to purchase a home inspection with the listing agreement. It saves the buyer some money and gives them some comfort knowing they will be protected.

Oct 03, 2017 06:29 AM
Rainmaker
1,559,167
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Everything in a house has a useful life !

  • Oct 03, 2017 06:22 AM
    Rainmaker
    3,812,958
    Barbara Todaro
    RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
    "Franklin MA Homes"

    we want every listing we have to go through a home inspection... we never have a buyer's agent who eliminates it...

    Oct 03, 2017 06:07 AM
    Rainmaker
    2,335,886
    Scott Godzyk
    Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
    One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

    It is a must for a buyer, it is their protection after all. 

    Oct 03, 2017 06:01 AM
    Rainmaker
    4,109,565
    Roy Kelley
    Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
    Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

    This is a good story to share.

    Oct 03, 2017 05:58 AM
    Rainmaker
    271,057
    Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
    Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
    Associate Broker

    I stress very highly, if the buyer does not want to have a home inspection, I make sure to have it in writing. 

    Oct 04, 2017 04:55 AM
    Rainmaker
    321,843
    Peter Testa
    Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
    PETER TESTA

    Unless told otherwise by the buyer, it's an automatic when I write up an offer. For a 1st time buyer I'd highly recommend it.

    If they are on a tight budget & want to "roll the dice" I would say there's less reason to do one on new construction & condos than on an old house. I deal with Contractor's too, they will rarely get an inspector unless it's something specialized that needs to be looked at. 

    Oct 04, 2017 04:47 AM
    Ambassador
    3,211,467
    Debbie Reynolds
    Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
    Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

    I have the talk and strongly encourage but if a buyer insists on not taking that course I have the buyer sign a waiver.

    Oct 03, 2017 06:32 PM
    Rainmaker
    70,008
    Ben DeHaven
    Haven Realty & Investments - Winter Haven, FL
    Proudly serving Winter Haven & Lakeland, Florida

    So hard. I even reccomend them on cash deals. 

    Oct 03, 2017 04:14 PM
    Ambassador
    1,846,966
    Wanda Kubat-Nerdin
    Residential, Referrals & Relocation REALTOR at PK Real Estate Utah South - St. George, UT
    St. George Area Preferred Residential REALTOR®

    Good question Nathan. I recommend a home inspection on new construction as well as resales. Every time a client decides to forgo one, they sign a waiver, taking complete ownership!

    Oct 03, 2017 01:39 PM
    Rainer
    141,766
    Sharon Altier, SFR
    Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL

    I would make sure that any buyer, who doesn't want an inspection, sign a doc that confirms I strongly urged them to do an inspection, but they declined. I also inform their attorney of their decision.  They can usually help deter a buyer from doing something that may put them at risk.

    Oct 03, 2017 12:45 PM
    Rainmaker
    563,385
    Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
    ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
    Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

    Depends on the experience and education of the buyer and the availability of funds to address the unexpected.

    IN so many cases the only difference in the official report and my observation is outlets with reverse polarity. Inspectors do not have super powers therefore are useful when their limitations are fully disclosed.

    What is needed is mandated by the lender and insurer.  

    HVAC systems have failed the day after move in. The inspector is not accountable. Stuff does, has and will happen.

    That said, only experienced investors with extensive 'rip out' resources tend to pass on the inspection. 

    Oct 03, 2017 05:58 AM
    Rainmaker
    3,085,300
    Joan Cox
    Metro Brokers - House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
    Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

    I don't give my buyers an option, ask what day they will do it.  IF they push back, I have them sign a form that says they have been offered all the inspections, but chose against it.

    Oct 06, 2017 07:30 PM
    Rainmaker
    3,598,257
    Gita Bantwal
    RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
    REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

    I never had to stress the importance. All my clients agree to it as soon as I mention it.

    Oct 05, 2017 05:59 AM
    Rainmaker
    1,345,533
    Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386
    Realty One Group - Carlsbad, CA
    Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

    So hard that we have our buyers sign a waiver if they refuse or do it themselves

    Oct 04, 2017 02:28 PM
    Rainmaker
    2,252,980
    Will Hamm
    Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
    "Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

    I insist that they do a home inspection.

     

    Oct 04, 2017 10:41 AM
    Rainmaker
    2,459,807
    Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
    Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
    Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

    If a Buyer won't do one - and we are representing them - they have to sign off that they declined to do an inspection and we are held harmless.

    Oct 04, 2017 06:06 AM
    Rainmaker
    3,777,365
    Gabe Sanders
    Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
    Stuart Florida Real Estate

    I usually make them sign a note saying they were advised of the importance of an inspection but against my advice, they turned it down.

    Oct 04, 2017 05:36 AM
    Ambassador
    2,576,300
    Tammy Lankford,
    Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
    Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

    they sign a hold harmless if they don't get one.... with a professional

    Oct 03, 2017 09:42 PM
    Ambassador
    3,510,063
    Praful Thakkar
    eXp Realty - Andover, MA
    Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

    Nathan Gesner - to an extent that we'd let go the home if the listing agent wants the contingency to be waived.

    Oct 03, 2017 09:34 PM
    Rainmaker
    606,297
    Olga Simoncelli
    Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
    CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

    Hard, but if the buyer chooses to waive it, get it in writing,

    Oct 03, 2017 07:25 PM
    Rainmaker
    3,095,572
    Dorie Dillard
    Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799 - Austin, TX
    Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

    If buyers wouldn't get an inspection I'd have a hard time representing them. Our company makes the buyer sign a waiver if they won't have an inspection. I've never in 26 years had a buyer not complete an inspection.

    Oct 03, 2017 07:10 PM
    Ambassador
    2,960,525
    Bob Crane
    Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
    Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

    "make sure the problems are found before closing so that you wont be on the hook for them later".

    Oct 03, 2017 07:10 PM
    Rainmaker
    3,215,287
    William Feela
    WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
    Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

    Depends on the property

    Oct 03, 2017 07:08 PM
    Rainmaker
    188,927
    Lynnea Miller
    Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
    Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

    If any agent in my brokerage says his/her buyer wants to pass on the home inspection, I require they send the buyer's advisory from our state board and get them to sign off on it.  I won't accept the liability of our brokerage not letting our buyers know how essential a home inspection is.

    Oct 03, 2017 07:00 PM